New Year Soirees That You Might Not Have Thought Of


I hope everyone had a happy Christmas! Sorry it took so long for a post.  I promise as soon as the holidays are over I will go back to the fabulous blogs that I always post! You know, the informative ones that I haven’t been able to write since the holiday season has taken over much of my time.  Sorry for that again, but I hope you’ll enjoy this one until I can.

As what normally happens at the end of the year, many people have their end of the year soirees…or, sadly, better known as the drunken raids.  These might be themed, plain, costumed, masked, or just a simple dinner with friends.  I say if you are going to throw a party (steampunk or not) than you should do it in your own ultimate style.  Just to have a party to drink in pointless.  Drink to celebrate and make it memorable!

Here are some memorable party ideas if you ever decided to throw a New Years bash of your very own.  Just remember that the police really don’t take much lip over the holidays!  Ask me later how I know!

New Years on the Orient Express – This is one you have to really plan for!  I know I don’t live around any trains but that would never stop me from planning a Orient Express themed party.  You can make a great night out of one of Agatha Christie’s most amazing books and maybe even solve a little mystery of your own.  The goal is to plan ahead!  Keep it small and have willing participants who have at least a few days off in advance.  Send out invitations early and make them interesting like a ransom note or even a passport but make sure you make your intentions clear.  It is all very romantic being on a train so make sure you bring that special someone!  Just promise you won’t really kill anybody for then you really will have problems on your hands!  Might make for a good novel… if it had not already been done.

Literary Characters Party – This was suggested by Nicholas Gentry! This party does not have to stick to a specific time period and I believe that kind of flexibility provides some wonderful unexpected surprises!  You’ll never know who will show up at your doorstep!  It could be Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice or Captain Nemo from 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea that brings you a bottle of bubbly which would be fabulous!  However, beware! If you wish to have limitations on this aspect, for example, if you do not want people to dress up like zombies or Klingons or Kenny G then please set limits on your invitations when you send them out.

Paris, the City of Lights – I have a solution for all those used Christmas lights!  When electricity was first introduced to Paris, the city literally dripped in lights.  So why not take advantage of your lights since there were already out and drip them from the ceiling instead of hanging them around the room.  I don’t think you still have to dress up for this party so whether it is formal or semi formal is entirely up to you.  As a suggestion, ask your guests to bring a strand of lights to keep adding on to the splendor.  Warning!  If you have a problem with using electricity than this might not be the theme you wish to go for.  This problem can be solved by throwing your party at a friends house!  Just another way of saying Happy New Years!

Vintage Science Fiction Bash –  I bet nobody has done a party like this before!  Reach back into your childhood, you know, when you actually read books.  Jules Verne, Mary Shelley… Do these names ring a bell?  If they don’t you really should read a book, but if they do, congratulations!  I think you can understand me now.  It’s time to whip out the Jacob’s ladder and a few kerosene lamps (just for effect, mind you) it’s time to get your science on.  Right now would be a good time to brush up on your Mr. Wizard. You know, for party games.  Just remember that resurrecting a human cadaver is still frowned upon so nothing’s really changed in 200 years.  Keep that in mind when the police stop by when the neighborhood looses electricity!

Age of Steam Soirée – The one that you have been waiting for…well, some of you at least.  Steampunk parties are a little bit more difficult to execute than most others since they are so well themed but if you can grab a knack for it then it is well worth the effort.  As with most steampunk parties, gears are expected so make sure that you have plenty of decorations and place settings appropriate for the theme. You can play the traditional games such as bobbing for apples (where everyone has to wear goggles) or even the traditional Snap Dragon.  But then you could really stand out!  If you have a lot of clocks or even if your guests would bring a clock you could set them all to midnight so when midnight comes for New Year’s all the clocks in your house will go off at once.  This will be incredibly hilarious if you, for one, have a cuckoo clock, or two, are incredibly inebriated…which is very likely.

I know this is not necessarily my best but it’s the holidays and I wish to keep it kind of light for at least right now.  I have actually already started working on two other posts but they are not finished as of yet but I wanted to give you at least something to let you know I was still here.  Happy New Year and have fun!  Do try not to get involved with the police or the fire department or the K-9 unit or the KGB or Nazis.  Definitely not Nazis!  There are a few choice organizations to stay clear of and those are the ones that can get you deported from the country!  but if you do manage to harass these organizations, do think of others and take pictures to send us.  Nothing says the holidays like a portrait with your local police department!

12 comments

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am just all new to blogging and site-building and certainly enjoyed your page. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You surely come with very good posts. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your blog.

  2. Thanks very much for this neat blog; this is the type of read that keeps me on track through my day. I’ve been searching around for your site after being referred to it from a buddy and was thrilled when I stumbled on it after googling for a while. Being a dedicated blogger, I’m excited to see authors like you taking initivative and supporting the community. Just commenting to show my appreciation for your work as it’s very inspiring, and many authors do not get acceptance they deserve. I am sure I’ll visit again and will recommend to others.

  3. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually know what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my website =). We could have a link exchange arrangement among us!

  4. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this website. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the future also. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own site going now. Really blogging is spreading its wings and growing rapidly. Your write up is a good example.

Comments are closed.