Victorian Inventions : What Could Go Wrong?


The Industrial Revolution.  Sounds droll and boring yes?  How mistaken you are then!  Victorians were marvels in their own rights.  They pondered, dreamed, imagined, theorized, and fantasized about every single scenario for every single problem that one with a definite problem would definitely have.   Transportation?  Writing? Portraiture?  Absolutely everything!

How successful were some of these imagined problem solving devices?  Sadly, not very, but that was all right!  It’s the thought that counts right?  Exactly!  And therein lies the very greatness of the Industrial Revolution.  All these devices and machines being thought up by the policemen, milkman, that guy down the street who stole your newspaper every morning were invented just to make your life better…or just interesting.

Not just interesting mind, but downright hilarious.  Some have been interred in this list because they demonstrate the creativity, the utter genius of human ingenuity while others for just their sheer effort.  So without further adieu…

Air-powered Train

What a way to start the list!  Actually called an Atmospheric Train, this magnificent machine carried weary passengers traveling in a train carriage car through wind propulsion tunnels from London Bridge to Croydon…which was at least a whopping mile and a half!  There were a few problems, however, with maintaining proper pressure and making sure the pipes were air tight to keep that pressure.  Sadly, this amazing idea was abandoned not long after it’s reveal in 1847.

Photogenic Revolver

 Need I say more?  Absolutely brilliant I must say!  A weapon disguised as a book?  A book disguised as a camera…or is that the other way around.  Either way, it was a lighter as well and Victorian’s loved to smoke you know!  Smile pretty!

Steam-powered Lawnmower

Even in Victorian times it was gentlemanly to be lazy…just like today I must say.  However, I must add that this is a rather dangerous device.  Oh, it works!  Surly, no one did steam-powered devices like the turn of the century folk, but safety was not a high priority.  Letting the son use this thing to cut the grass and he could come back with third degree burns on 3/4 of his body!

Pryophone

The music of arsonists everywhere!  This musical instrument was similar (or so they say) to a Calliope only a calliope is an external force and this is an internal…kinda like a bomb.  The range on the Pryophone is greater due to this fact and yet those crazy Victorians with those strict safety precautions they have on their inventions just won’t go away!  Some problems that might arise from this device are the single fact that most run on gasoline, propane, and for those really spectacular notes, hydrogen.  If you don’t see a problem, watch the footage of the Hindenburg.

Locomobile

Well, everything else during the Industrial Revolution was either coal, steam, or electric (not until later) why not a car…ish looking thing?  It might as well be the first car/mini train to take flight on the god fearing streets of London, swerving about alleyways and spreading that sweet exhaust of coal and soot on the brave citizens as they munched on blacked pastries.  I heard that black rouge was the new fad then.

Pneumatic Tube System

A dream of Postal employees everywhere!  They even came up with this idea in the 19th century!  That’s how much they hated “document delivery” back then…just as much as it is hated now!  What a Steampunk world we could have created with this.  The tubes would be distributed about major drop offs in the city where then they were delivered properly.  I hope the government reads this soon…we need this to be put into full effect immediately!

Experimental Machine Guns

I could understand how this wouldn’t have worked out.  They only have four guns mounted!  They needed five because it matches the Fibonacci number order!  Really, I don’t see how this could have been cast to the wayside.  What could possibly go wrong here?

Parentry’s Smoking Machine

Why you might ask?  What if you go to a party and no one is smoking in the room?  Well, that is quite rude yes?  So here’s the solution: a machine that will smoke the cigars for you to fill the room and blast out that awkward silence you were trying to avoid.  No really, I have no idea why someone would invent this.

Multi-purpose Cane

For the every man in every man!  This cane can do it all!  Wanting to catch butterflies in your manly outing with the fellas?  Don’t want the hassle of actually carrying your cigar around?  Are you musically inclined and desire,on the sprig of a moment, to whip out your trusty flute and play a diddy?  Do you need to measure a horse?  Well, do we have to sit and talk about your problems with a therapist…who sadly is not around yet.  But in the meantime, here’s a cane that could do all that and has a secret spot for your cocaine!  (That’s okay since cocaine is used in everything in this time period.  Crazy times were Victorian times.)

Diplograph

For the forger in our little dark hearts!  This could also be seen as very lazy since you just wrote two documents at once but one is slightly different from the other.  Like it was written by your five your old brother who still thinks a Q is pretty enough to use for every other letter so instead of “respect” you get”rqsqeqcq” different.  Yes, I’m sure the office would love to decode your secret message as you are typing the eulogy of you Uncle Morris saying that he liked “cqts” and their pretty “cqaqs”. (For those who aren’t even going to try, that was cats and coats.  I told you…lazy).

And so here are at least ten wondrous inventions though hundreds exist out their.  I will definitely be continuing this in the near future so make sure to check very often for the other postings.  And special note to Bizarre Victorian Inventions…you make me smile a little everyday!

140 comments

  1. Normally I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very great post.

  2. I haven’t checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the last handful of posts are really great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend. 🙂

  3. Thanks a whole lot for your interesting post. I’ve been looking for such message for a very long time. Not all your content material is completely clear to me, even though it truly is surely interesting and worth reading.

  4. Hey very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I am happy to find a lot of useful information here in the post, we need work out more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  5. Wonderful blog site! I really really like how it is easy on my eyes together with the data are effectively written. Quite possibly questioning how I may be notified whenever a new put up continues to be manufactured. I’ve got subscribed for your rss feed which need to do the trick! Use a good day!

  6. Somebody essentially help to make seriously posts I would state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish amazing. Fantastic job!

  7. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  8. I just could not depart your site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your visitors? Is going to be back often in order to check up on new posts

  9. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  10. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, let alone the content!

  11. Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love learning extra on this topic. If doable, as you acquire experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with further data? It is extremely useful for me.

  12. Hey There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is a really smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  13. I was just looking for this info for some time. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your web site. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that do not rank this type of informative websites in top of the list. Normally the top web sites are full of garbage.

  14. Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  15. Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related info ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, website theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task..

  16. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  17. My brother recommended I would possibly like this blog. He used to be totally right. This submit truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  18. I recently came accross your website and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my initial comment. Nice blog. I am going to keep visiting this web site very frequently. Many thanks

  19. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  20. Whats up. I absolutely would like to place a nice quick note and inform you learn that in fact I’ve been focusing on your personal blog for quite some time. Keep up the excellent work and I’m going to be browsing back again again once again.

  21. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually recognise what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally visit my site =). We can have a link exchange agreement between us!

  22. I really like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my own blogroll.

  23. I dont think Ive seen all the angles of this subject the way youve pointed them out. Youre a true star, a rock star man. Youve got so much to say and know so much about the subject that I think you should just teach a class about it

  24. Solid post! I honestly wasn’t aware of this. It is a relief to read because I get so frustrated when bloggers put no thought into their work. It is obvious that you know what you’re writing about. I will definitely visit again!

  25. I’m usually to running a blog and i really respect your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and preserve checking for brand spanking new information.

  26. I need to examine with you here, which isn’t one thing I normally do! I get pleasure from reading a blog that will make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!

  27. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to seek out somebody with some original ideas on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this website is something that’s wanted on the net, someone with somewhat originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  28. It is really a great and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  29. Excellent job here. I genuinely enjoyed what you had to say. Keep going because you absolutely bring a new voice to this topic. Not many people would say what youve said and still make it interesting. Well, at least Im interested. Cant wait to see additional of this from you.

  30. I enjoy you because of all of your labor on this blog. My niece really loves getting into internet research and it’s really obvious why. Almost all hear all regarding the lively medium you deliver rewarding techniques via the blog and as well as inspire contribution from other ones about this idea plus my daughter is now becoming educated so much. Enjoy the rest of the new year. You’re the one performing a wonderful job.

  31. I have read a few good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much effort you put to make such a wonderful informative website.

  32. I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for you? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome website!

  33. I think this is among the most important info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  34. I will immediately seize your rss as I can not to find your email subscription
    hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any?
    Please permit me realize so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

Comments are closed.